Web Analytics Made Easy -
+91 9072315933


All Lights India International Film Festival (ALIIFF) congratulates renowned director Adoor Gopalakrishnan for being awarded the JC Daniel Award-2016 by the Kerala Government on 23rd May, 2017. The award which is named after the late director JC Daniel who made Malayalam’s first movie, is the State’s highest honour given to an individual for outstanding contribution to Malayalam cinema.

Adoor Gopalakrishnan is India's most acclaimed contemporary filmmaker. Born in 1941, he was raised up in an environment of performing arts. He won the National Award for Best Book On Cinema in 1984, titled Cinemayude Lokam” (The World of Cinema).  He has won National Film Awards 16 times, Kerala State Film Awards 17 times and has also won several international film awards including the prestigious British Film Institute Award for Elippathayam (1981). Adoor received the Padma Shri in 1984 and the Padma Vibhushan in 2006, and was honoured for his valuable contributions to Indian cinema the highest cinema award of the country, the Dadasaheb Phalke Award, in the year 2004.[1]

As part of the ace director’s golden jubilee year in film-making, he was honoured at ALIIFF-2015 with special screenings of his movies "Koodiyettam" (1978) and "Anantharam" (1987). ALIIFF wishes Adoor sir all the best in scaling even greater heights in his unique craft of storytelling.